Gaming News Wrap [20 Aug 2014]

News Wrap 06Good morning everyone. Get dosed up on gaming news and videos to help make you the life of the water cooler discussions this morning.

Games

The ‘Frontier’s Edge’ DLC and Update 5 for Titanfall has been released on Xbox 360. The DLC costs £7.99/$9.99 standalone or £19.99/$29.99 for the season pass and brings three new maps to the multiplayer. The update adds the sale and purchase of Burn Cards, among other things. [More…]

The ‘Empire of the Sky’ DLC for Trials Fusion has been released for Xbox, PC and PS4 at a price of £3.99/$4.99. The DLC includes nine new tracks (six classic, one Supercross, one skill game and one FMX), 18 new challenges including secret features and hidden mini-games, and five new Achievements/Trophies.

Resident Evil: Revelations 2 may be about to be announced. Boxart and other assets for ‘Biohazard Revelations 2’ (‘Biohazard’ being the Japanese alternative name for the series) have been spotted on the Xbox.com website fueling speculation of a sequel. [More…]

The multiplayer component of Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain will be revealed on Thursday at 3am PT / 6am ET / 11am BST / 12pm CET / 8pm AEST on IGN.

Freedom Wars will be available for PS Vita on 28 October in North America and 29 October in Europe.

Wasteland 2 for the PC, Linux and Mac has been confirmed for release on 19 September. The game is a sequel to the 1988 RPG.

Atari has announced that it will be releasing “re-imagined” versions of ‘Alone in the Dark’ (subtitled ‘Illumination’) and ‘Haunted House’ for PC this autumn. [More…]

Sales & Discounts

Deals with Gold brings discounted Call of Duty Ghosts DLC (including the season pass) and Trials Fusion to the Xbox One. Meanwhile, on the Xbox 360, Ghosts is joined by discounts on other Call of Duty related goodies, as well  as a Rockstar sale. Full details can be found here.

The US PS Store update is now live and brings discounts on Hotline Miami, Daylight and more, as well as a host of new releases and add-ons. Diablo 3, Plants vs. Zombies Garden Warfare, Counterspy and more are now available. Full details can be found here.

Consoles & Hardware

A new Wii U system update (1.5.2.) has been released in North America and Europe and  makes “further improvements to overall system stability”, while “other minor adjustments have been made to enhance the user experience”. [More…]

Industry

Eurogamer’s interview with Sony‘s Shuhei Yoshida discusses “Tomb Raider, Vita’s no-show and the mystery of 10m PS4 sales”. Read more here. In the interview he says that he hopes Rise Of The Tomb Raider would eventually come to the PS4, and that he didn’t know Microsoft had secured it as an exclusive.

Crytek has vowed to fix its damaged reputation “back on track” by “making really high quality games.” [More…]

Ubisoft will be winding down its development of titles for Xbox 360 and PS3 in 2015. This due to the new hardware “selling very quickly”. Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot also told Game Informer that “Nintendo customers don’t buy Assassin’s Creed” and that’s why Watch_Dogs will be the last “mature game” they plan to release for the Wii U.

Activision reportedly want to own its a film studio so they can make films for Call of Duty and Skylanders. [More…]

Bungie has been ordered to return the stocks sacked composer Martin O’Donnell had in the firm that were wrongfully taken away following his shock dismissal earlier this year. [More…]

Sony will be streaming its PlayStation press conference for Japan around two weeks before the Tokyo Game Show. The event will be livestreamed on the company’s website from at 3pm JST (7am BST/2am EST/11pm PST) on 1 September.

South Africa’s Sharlto Copley has joined the cast of (PSN original series) Powers as Detective Christian Walker. Michelle Forbes (Battlestar Galactica) has also been announced as Retro Girl, and they both join a cast consisting of Eddie Izzard, Noah Taylor, Olesya Rulin, Max Fowler, Adam Godley and Susan Heyward. [More…]

Videos

How about 35 minutes of The Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt gameplay? Yes please!

And now, how about six minutes of Bloodborne gameplay?

These are the Barclays Premier League features heading to FIFA 15.

Warframe Update 15 is coming and brings “high-energy, skilled ninja battles into the depths of Space” in ‘Archwing’ – a new game mode.

Pre-order Fantasia: Music Evolved and get a free three-song bundle, which includes tracks from Demi Lovato, OneRepublic, and AVICII. If that’s your sort of thing.

Want to see over an hour of Hotline Miami 2: Wrong Number? Here you go then.

Invisible Inc. is now available on Steam Early Access for $15.99.

About Zombie Dredd

Wannabe gaming journalist. Wannabe zombie. And sometimes clan leader of OAP. Clint O'Shea when in his human disguise.